Zero Kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho

Welcome to the translation of Zero Kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho! (by Kobashiri Kakeru, ill. Shizuma Yoshinori)

This is your translator, Aer, speaking.

Back when I joined ND TL, I had no idea what project I wanted to translate. I cast a broad net in search of ideas, and found this gem floating around on the Baka-Tsuki suggestions subforum.

You can read the synopsis over in the “About this translation” tab, but I would like to share some of my personal insights here. This story, ostensibly a token magical adventure, is actually a thought-provoking commentary on themes such as religion’s impact on civilization, societal conflicts, and endemic prejudice. It’s not boring in its delivery—the author masterfully incorporates these topics with occasional lightheartedness, sacrificing neither significance nor fun while doing so. I think I’ll leave it at that to avoid spoiling the plot. After all, there’s a reason why Zero Mahou won the Grand Prize at the 20th annual Dengeki Novel Taishō, considered the most prestigious prize for aspiring light novel authors.

So far, the series has 5 volumes, with a 6th slated to come out next month. I expect to translate this project to completion, although this is not a guarantee that there will not be irl events along the way that will slow down translation. You should expect translation speed to slow down drastically nearing exam/midterm seasons, but normally speaking, there will be one update each week on Monday. The release countdown on the sidebar will provide a rough estimate for the amount of time remaining until the next update.

I’d like to thank LockmanCapulet for being an amazing editor as well as a really cool guy, and DefaultMelody for being such a helpful supervisor and keeping us organized.

Finally, I believe I speak on behalf of the entire team when I say this:

We hope you enjoy reading Zero Kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho!

cd9052b27ad3450e9b2e3052db629624

Please leave any feedback you may have in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Zero Kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho

  1. Good to have you here. I hope that your project will be able to mature in the future. We leechers do not necessary need a good or fast translator, but we just need a consistent one. So even if you fail behind schedule, as la big as you keep us posted and communicate with us, then we will always support you.

    Thank you for your work.

    Like

  2. Nice~ It’s about time for this LN to get translated. Was planning to TL in myself just 2 days ago and now i see it got picked up 😀 Thanks for picking it up and good luck 🙂

    Like

    • Waittttt right there, random translator that I suddenly care about. May I ask what are you planning to translate next? may I give you some recommendation?

      Like

    • Yes, the beast does remain the MC (narrator) for the duration of the series, as far as I can say from reading ahead. The witch Zero can also be considered as the MC, but one that does not do any narration.

      Like

Leave a Reply

